Tees Valley Clinical Commissioning Groups confirm merger plans

With effect from 1 April, the three Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) across Tees Valley will merge into one CCG.

A single NHS Tees Valley CCG will be created, replacing CCGs NHS Darlington CCG, NHS Hartlepool and Stockton on Tees CCG and NHS South Tees CCG.

At the same time NHS County Durham CCG will also replace NHS Durham Dales, Easington and Sedgefield CCG and NHS North Durham CCG.

The two neighbouring CCGs will work closely together under a joint leadership team which has been in place since October 2018. Dr Neil O’Brien will remain as the single Accountable Officer, supported by two chief officers (Nicola Bailey focusing on Tees Valley and Stewart Findlay focusing on County Durham).

Working together as two closely linked CCGs will help us to make the best use of our resources, ensuring high quality services are equally available to all local residents across County Durham and Tees Valley.

Whilst the new CCGs will retain a focus on local people and local services, the benefits of working across a larger population base with a shared management resource are already being realised and will continue to grow under the new arrangements. This includes:

  • Improvements to the quality of health and care services provided for local people
  • Working with local partners to align health and wellbeing priorities which support the needs of local people
  • Primary Care Networks delivering local clinical leadership and improved health
  • Efficiencies and cost savings which allow for improvements to services

The new CCG Governing Bodies, which will continue to have representation from GP practices, lay membership for public and patient involvement, local clinical leaders and senior managers.

These mergers have been approved by NHS England and NHS Improvement, and sit within the framework outlined in the NHS Long Term Plan.


Supporting documents

Frequently Aasked Questions

Leave a Comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.